Estonia » National Holidays »

Estonian Holidays

Public Holidays

1 January - New Year's Day

24 February - Independence Day (1918), the 96th anniversary of the declaration founding the Republic of Estonia. After this declaration Estonia was forced to fight a war of independence against Soviet Russia in the east and Baltic-German forces in the south. During this war Estonia secured its borders and concluded the Tartu Peace Treaty with Soviet Russia on 2 February 1920. 
More information

Good Friday and Easter Sunday

1 May - Spring Day

23 June - Victory Day (Võidupüha) commemorates the victory of Estonian forces over the Baltic Germans' forces (led by Landeswehr) in the Battle of Võnnu (Cesis) in northern Latvia in 1919, during which Estonian forces thwarted an attempt to restore Baltic-German control over the region. This day is marked by important official ceremonies.
More information

24 June - St John's Day or Midsummer Day (Jaanipäev) and its important Midsummer Eve is a traditional celebration held on the night of 23-24 June. This day marks a day closest to the longest day of the year when twilight and dawn appear to merge. The evening of the 23rd and well into the morning of the 24th is celebrated with bonfires and a traditional festive menu.
More information

20 August - Day of Restoration of Independence. Dramatic developments in the Soviet Union in August 1991 resulted in the three Baltic countries finally regaining their independence. On 20 August 1991, Estonia issued a decision on the re-establishment of independence on the basis of historical continuity of statehood.
More information

24 December - Christmas Eve

25 December - Christmas Day
More information

26 December - Boxing Day

Flag Days

On 1 January 2006, the new State Flag Act entered into force in Estonia. The most important change introduced by the new law is that all individuals have the right to use the state flag as a national flag whenever they feel it fit to do so, but the use of the flag must be appropriate and respectful of time-honoured traditions. State flags are permanently flown over state institutions, local and city governments, and also at border crossing points.

The new law reduces the number of official flag days from fifteen to thirteen, including 9 May and Europe Day. Election days and referendum days are also flag days. However, flags must be hoisted on all buildings on only three of these days.

Another major change compared to the past situation is the hoisting of state flags on school and university buildings on all schooldays. This regulation entered into force on the 1 September 2005.

For more information about the state symbols and holidays please see

Information on the use of the national flag and other state symbols:



© Estonian Embassy in Stockholm Tyrgatan 3/3a, 11427 Stockholm, Sweden tel. (+46 8) 5451 2280, e-mail: